Lorne Trail


The Lorne trail runs from the Rural Municipality of Victoria boundary near Cypress River to Rural Municipality of Thompson boundary near Dearwood.  The route enters the municipality just south of Cypress River, meanders through the valley to Lake Seven, carries on to the east to the village of Bruxelles, then south to Swan Lake, and down the old #23 Hwy. to Somerset. From Somerset the trail heads south to the village of St. Leon where we have built a walking trail around the town’s lake. 

The route passes through some very pretty parts of the Pembina Mountains, the sources of both the Cypress and the Boyne Rivers, the Swan Lake First Nations reserve and cairns that mark routes of both La Verendyre and Alexander Henry.

This section of trail is situated in the gently rolling hills and fertile lands of southern Manitoba. It is bordered on the east by the Pembina Hills, by the Tiger Hills on the north and west, and the Pembina Valley on the south. The Pembina River drains a series of lakes including the popular Swan Lake to the south.  As you approach St. Leon you can’t miss the giant windmills harnessing the energy from the prairie winds.


  • Pembina Mountains
  • Tiger Hills
  • Pembina Valley
  • Pembina River
  • Swan Lake
  • St. Leon Wind Farm


For tourism information please visit:

Travel Manitoba

Back to Top